Catching up on yesterday. (You should just buy Cashing In, my new book available off Amazon)

As many of you will know, I always carefully consider my responses to news stories. I never ever simply say the first thing in my head and publish it on the internet without making the proper professional and ethical considerations for somebody who considers himself to be a tax expert.

But, then, I normally do this exceptionally quickly.

But I didn’t actually bother watching the PAC session or paying any attention to the UK Uncut court failure. I had predicted these events and they occurred exactly as I thought they would.

Instead, I just reread Cashing In by Murphy Richards. You can too by popping along to Amazon or the Google PlayStore where it is exclusively available.

Besides, Margaret Hodge obviously knows what she is talking about as she has properly checked her own family’s business’s accounts rather than simply asking them for some sort of assurance that they pay “the right amount of tax”. That would be somewhat hypocritical given the probing she is giving Google and Amazon.

Anyway, Margaret Hodge won the day by comparing Matt Brittin to Satan by saying “I think you do evil”. Google are obviously the spawn of the devil by trading with the UK and not paying tax here.

The fact is, they don’t need to employ any people in the UK, so the fact they do should make us try to apply corporation tax until they either sack their UK staff or pay the fair amount of tax.

Also occurring yesterday, pro-profligacy group Uncut the UK won their moral argument in their High Court case by wasting HMRC’s resources and time in an action that was only ever going to impair HMRC’s ability to do an already difficult and unpopular job. So thank you for that. Well done.

The downside of the decision is now that this provides a precedent that means I can’t go around suing government bodies and organs of The State over decisions that don’t affect me directly when I don’t think they’re doing their job properly or I think they have made a bad decision.

Finally, back at the PAC, Lin Homer behaved like the sort of white middle-aged middle-class woman we are used to seeing in positions of authority. How difficult would it be to find a white middle-aged middle-class man who could do her job in order to bring some diversity to HMRC?

She said:

We see – but understand more fully – some of the information that might seem to the general public to be surprising.

The arrogant bitch implied that HMRC are able to access information from Google and Amazon that I can’t get from reading the Guardian or Private Eye!

The Guardian and Private Eye, of course, that do not cherry pick the information they publish. They have, I imagine, fully disclosed all the information that they have uncovered in the past four months that didn’t support their arguments.

No, all the information I need can be found from those two sources. Which is why I know that Stemcor must be letting HMRC set their transfer pricing policy (the only truly moral course of action), Google is evil and Uncut the UK have been unfairly dismissed as a bunch of vitriolic whining morons.

That is my carefully considered and objective, as ever, opinion.

I say opinion, I mean “The Truth”.

2 thoughts on “Catching up on yesterday. (You should just buy Cashing In, my new book available off Amazon)

  1. Once again an excellent article Murphy and just to add it is good to see that Margaret Hodge rightly ignored Stemcor’s marketing service company based in Guernsey (only sometimes a tax haven) and the fact that the UK company has the vast majority of the debt which allows them to pay more overseas tax and her personal shareholding is in trust in case she passes away before her time. We have her assurances like you say and I, like you, am entirely happy with that.

    Can I also recommend your excellent, well researched and thoughtful book, Cashing In – much of which can be used to support your arguments. The only minor criticism I heard was from our good friend Carole Wilcocks who would have liked you to refer to land value tax on every page. If we had LVT not only would everything be much fairer, 911 wouldn’t have happened as Osama Bin Laden would have seen Western Culture in a much more favourable light.

    Sorry for the length of this post. I must get back to my technology lecture.

    • I am certain that, in considering the relevance of Stemcor to the debate on tax avoidance, Margaret Hodge has taken into account the Guernsey company and the fact that many Stemcor sales are routed through Switzerland in exactly the same way that she criticised Starbucks for doing so.

      The difference is that Stemcor is a group head-quartered in the UK. Which means the PAC has more reason to look at it. Which means that it is less likely that it will.

      And rightly so.

      I have some sympathy with Carole’s criticism of my book. I have tried to make amends in the second edition by only using the words land, value and tax on page 468.

Leave a Reply

